I’m venting.

10/11/2016 § Leave a comment

This year has been garbage for me in so many ways. The one good thing is that I’ve reduced enough to reach a healthful weight and proportion through conscious eating and caloric restriction. This result is validated by people who saw the “before diet” me and the “one year after” me, and who are admirably following their own conscious diet plans and achieving desired results. I applaud them and cheer them on if they’re improving their health.

What I am finding are people who perhaps do not read as widely current nutrition diet studies, making arguments for eating the exact opposite way, without supporting evidence for better results (e.g.: lower hbA1c, hsCRP, weight and triglycerides; higher HDL, Vit D3 and B12 concentrations), in response to my announcement. I also find people posting contorted findings from studies they don’t read, claiming cheese is not a health food, dietary cholesterol determines blood cholesterol, cholesterol and not inflammation is the basis for cardiovascular and atherosclerotic disease. They claim science journalists design and control studies, they make claims for conclusions that aren’t the actual conclusions from those studies. They boast numbers for triglycerides level that are incompatible with human life. What they claim are easily debunked, not from opinion blogs, but from primary source perusal and evaluation.

They don’t question what they read, they don’t look for additional primary sources, they don’t employ critical thinking. Am I supposed to be convinced by people who can’t employ critical thinking and can’t define their terms? Are they covertly trying to warn me of brain damage risks from divagating from my diet by showing me an example of addled cognition? What are they getting out of their argument?

Me, I’m learning how not to argue. I’m learning about fallacious arguments, faulty premises, incorrect conclusions. I’m learning that my diet hasn’t hurt my critical thinking skills (but exercise might make them sharper). It’s as if people thought “hey, I eat food, therefore I’m an expert!” I don’t criticize people’s diets if they’re working for them and are different from mine, because I know the other person is not an immediate relative, has differing food intolerances and allergies and affinities from my own body’s. I wonder why they feel they need to challenge mine when mine’s working for me.

It’s a sensitive subject for me because I did actually have an open mind, when I saw that my eating habits were destroying my health, and looked at pros and cons for diets. I learned my sibling had lost 60 pounds on a restrictive diet, and that led me to read more about how that diet could work for me. Then he died shortly thereafter, and I lost interest. Honestly I lost interest in a lot of things. But eventually I regained interest in my health and finding a way of eating to correct health abnormalities, and I learned about proteins, fats, and carbohydrates, what they do for nutrition. I learned about vitamins, minerals and amino acids. I learned that over 95% of diets failed, because they weren’t sustained and the weight came back on as the dieter returned to the foods and habits that caused weight gain in the first place. I didn’t want a short-term diet with effects that could be rapidly undone, nor a diet that couldn’t be followed on a budget. I learned about nutrient density. I learned about cravings for sugar and starch, and how they could be controlled and removed. Lastly I read about people’s successes in staying on their eating plans with improved health markers. I was moved to try one diet plan because a very large percentage of people ate very delicious food to satiety and reduced caloric intake, found their energy improved and their blood lipid profiles improved, most notable for me was the reversal of their metabolic syndrome and insulin resistance. I tried it, I liked it, I am staying with it because it’s easy and it works.

If you’re going to challenge me on my way of eating without reading and understanding the pros and cons, and assume I’d never think critically nor read widely nor evaluate health claims or consult advice of at least one knowledgeable reliable physician before shifting my way of eating, I can only assume it’s not my continued good health and maintained ideal weight you’re concerned about. It’s that you’re convinced I’m doing something wrong, something that offends your sensitivities (sensibilities is the wrong word here), and you require me to correct your thinking, but rather than ask me questions, you choose to regurgitate diet dogma somebody fed you long, long ago, and you require that I accept your premise what is good for your body is good for mine, and what you choose not to eat is bad for my body.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading I’m venting. at Jannicking Skidge.

meta

